Youth Council


 The City invites interested residents wishing to serve on the Youth Council to submit an application. Residents interested in serving may obtain an application from the City Clerk’s Office located in La Cañada Flintridge City Hall, 1327 Foothill Boulevard, La Cañada Flintridge. For additional inquiries, please call (818) 790-8880. The deadline for filing applications is Friday, March 31, 2017 by 5:00 p.m.

 Application for Youth Council


The purpose of the Youth Council is to provide a forum specifically for the 
discussion of youth issues and to expose youth to the nature and scope of city government. Duties of all Youth Council members include proposing, developing and recommending programs intended to provide recreational opportunities, skills development, independence and self-acknowledgement and to promote acceptance of youth in all aspects of community through cooperation with and assisting community agencies and city departments in order to foster mutual understanding and respect for youth. Youth Council members also recommend to the City Council changes in procedure, policies and legislation for the purposes of improving youth involvement in the community. 

 The Youth Council consist of nine members, five are appointed by the City Council from a pool of resident applicants and four are appointed by one of the four local high schools (which may not be residents of the City).  Members are between the ages of 14-19.   Members of the Youth Council shall not serve on one of the City’s other seven (7) Commissions/Committees simultaneously (with the exception of the Joint Use Committee).  Other than City Council members, persons elected to any office may serve as a City Commissioner except as provided by Government Code section 1099 and/or any other applicable law.

Compensation:  Youth Council Members do not receive any compensation.


The Youth Council meets on the 1st Friday of each month at 3:30 PM in the Council Chambers at City Hall.

Youth Council Agendas                                                                 Youth Council Minutes


 Youth Council staff liaison, Christina Nguyen at (818) 790-8880;                      

Jillian Pih

Vice Chair 
Vivian Kambe 

Christopher Ignacio Hidalgo 
Helen Rossi
Ilene Kung 
Kelly Steele
Lauren Risha
Nathan Gi
Patrick Witteman 

Youth Council Advisor 

Mayor Pro Tem Michael T. Davitt