City Council

The La Cañada Flintridge City Council is comprised of five members elected at large to four-year overlapping terms.  Annually, the City Council selects one of its members to serve as Mayor, and one member to serve as Mayor Pro-Tem.  Both the Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem positions are largely ceremonial and are afforded no more decision-making authority than any other City Council Member.  

The City Council acts as the legislative body for the community, establishing all City laws and policies.  The City Council is assisted by five commissions and two committees to advise on matters within specific areas of responsibility.  The City Council appoints the City Manager, City Attorney and City Treasurer as well as members of all advisory Commissions, Boards and Committees.  The City Council also acts as the governing board for the Public Improvement Corporation, Sanitation Districts No. 28 and No. 34, and the LCF Local Financing Authority.